[VIDEOPRT] Fix updating of new registry path values
authorTimo Kreuzer <timo.kreuzer@reactos.org>
Thu, 22 Jul 2021 14:13:38 +0000 (16:13 +0200)
committerTimo Kreuzer <timo.kreuzer@reactos.org>
Tue, 27 Jul 2021 12:44:14 +0000 (14:44 +0200)
commitecf3416f492c4b664586de89bc36f831437fe23f
treeff6b7dd9b492a66284d8db5ffd7c9bf4c02f59fd
parent204626f793ad0f27064a0e7a1422a9795875384c
[VIDEOPRT] Fix updating of new registry path values

CORE-17688
When a new driver is installed for the same device (like VBoxVideo), it uses the same hardware enum registry key and thus reuses the same DisplayId and the same display registry key. Therefore we need to update the setting in that key, even when the key already exists.

This seems to work good and not cause any issues, but testing indicated that on Windows some values are only updated, when the driver has changed. If neccessary, this can be achieved by updating and querying the ActiveService value in the device enum key (e.g. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\PCI\VEN_80EE&DEV_BEEF&SUSYS_00000000&REV_00\3&267a616a&0&10\Control: ActiveService). If that doesn't match the current device name (from DriverExtension->RegistryPath) the values should be copied over.
win32ss/drivers/videoprt/registry.c